The Society for Medicinal Plant Research donates a number of awards. The prizes are awarded during the opening ceremony of the annual congress of the Society for Medicinal Plant Research.

For 2022, the GA has scheduled three Awards:

Please send your application to Prof Dr Judith Rollinger until March 27, 2022.


  • Travel Grants for the Annual Congress (further information will soon be published).

60th birthday of Egon Stahl

On the occasion of his 60th birthday, Professor Dr. Dr. h.c. mult. Egon Stahl donated a medal, a document and a monetary prize in order to recognize and promote young scientists working in the field of Pharmacognosy (Pharmaceutical Biology) and Analytical Phytochemistry. 

Dr. Willmar-Schwabe-Award

The aim of the award is to motivate preferentially young scientists to resolve phytotherapeutical and phytopharmaceutical problems in an interdisciplinary approach, in order to support the evidence-based use of natural products.

Dr. Willmar-Schwabe-Scholarship

The aim of the Dr. Willmar Schwabe Research Scholarship for Young Scientists is to support young scientists, especially from developing countries, in a research attachment to a leading research institution. Projects focusing on pharmacological or clinical research of phytopharmaceuticals and their active substances are particularly welcome. The award is exclusively used for travelling and living costs of the awardee, and not for consumables. Duration of the attachment of at least 6 months is mandatory.

Bionorica Phytoneering Award

The Bionorica Phytoneering Award acknowledges outstanding research in the field of development and application of phytopharmaceutical products.

The aim of the award is to motivate scientists to perform research in the following areas:

  • pharmacodynamics and pharmacokinetics of herbal medicinal products and their active principles
  • clinical research in the areas of respiratory tract infections, inflammation, women’s health, and metabolic syndrome
  • safety and pharmacovigilance studies.

GA Travel Grants for Annual Congress

In 2021 the GA won’t assign any travel grants as the congress will take place online only.

GA Travel Grant rules for PhD students from all countries

PhD students who are at least in their 2nd year of regular student GA membership (fee payment status will be checked) and would like to present their scientific results during the GA-Congress are eligible for a travel grant.